AEA Volunteer Opportunities

Members are the lifeblood of the AEA organization. AEA values member input and engagement, relying upon their guidance and knowledge about the field in the development of programs for our membership. AEA also values diversity when building its Working Group volunteer base to better serve and represent this unique, global community of evaluators who proudly consider AEA their professional association.           

According to the Member Engagement Principles listed in the AEA Policy Manual, the conduct of membership engagement activities of the association shall:

A. Contribute to the fulfillment of AEA’s governance and operations while concurrently building member capacity and leadership;

B. Democratically draw on—and contribute to—valuing diverse experiences, talents, and ways of knowing, as well as diverse racial, ethnic, gender, and cultural backgrounds;

C. Contribute to trust, respect, ownership, responsibility, and timeliness of interaction within AEA; and

D. Draw on both individual and collective voices.

Volunteering on a Working Group requires a commitment to AEA and the assigned program/project. The work product of each Working Group is outlined in individual Charge Documents that also address deadline expectations. Meeting scheduling and frequency for each  Working Group are established through consultation between the Working Group members and AEA.

To volunteer for a Working Group, please complete the contact form here and return to AEA via fax or email. While you may submit an application for most Working Groups, those with a membership status that indicate 'Open' are actively seeking members on a rolling basis and will receive top priority in placement. Volunteer Now

Abstract Reviewers

Charge: To assist TIG leaders in reviewing abstracts submitted for consideration for the Evaluation 2017 conference.

To volunteer to participate as an abstract reviewer for Evaluation 2017, contact the leadership of the TIG with which you wish to review. TIG leadership contact information may be found here.


Members: Sheila Arens, David Fetterman, Christina Christie

Conference Working Group

Charge: To assist management in reviewing possible changes to conference structure and evaluating potential innovations. 

Members: Nnenia Campbell, Jennifer Catrambone, Nicole Clark, Catherine Harbour, Jean King, Chris Lysy, Michael Strong, Nicole Vicinanza 

Contributions Working Group

Charge: To analyze the possible approaches to accepting external contributions and develop an appropriate policy recommendation to the Board on creating a contributions and planned giving program. 

AEA Public Statement on Cultural Competence in Evaluation Dissemination Working Group

Charge: To assist management in planning for dissemination and use of the Cultural Competency Statement. 

Members: Cindy Crusto, Derrick Gervin, Rupu Gupta, Jori Hall, Jenny Jones, Tamara Bertrand Jones, Dominica McBride, Leah Neubauer, Osman Ozturgut, Katherine Tibbetts, Cynthia Wright, Kari Greene, Rupu Gupta

Elections Working Group

Charge: To create a slate of potential candidates for the AEA annual elections.

Members: Jonathan Morrell, Katherine Dawes, Tarek Azzam, Rodney Hopson

Environmental Sustainability Audit Working Group

Charge: To provide input into the development and conduct of an environmental sustainability audit of AEA and ways to incorporate the findings into the AEA structure and programs. 

Members: Nicky Bowman, Heather Dantzker, Dania Ebert, Mirele Goldsmith, Arlene Hopkins, Stephen Maack, Marcia Nation, Sarah Singer,  Dawn Smart, Beverly Parsons, Linda Urban, Corrie Whitmore

Ethics Working Group

Charge: To assist management in steering and guiding the ethics work of AEA and report on this work to AEA and other relevant audiences. 


Graduate Education Diversity Initiative Working Group

Members: Rodney Hopson, Brandi Gilbert                                                                                                                                                                                                 

Guiding Principles Review Working Group

Charge: To assist in the review of the Guiding Principles. Work will kickoff in late 2016/early 2017.

Members: Beverly Parsons

International Working Group

Charge: To assist management with the development of international outreach and AEA’s international presence/programs.

Members: Nicky Bowman,Cynthia Clapp-Wincek, George Julnes, Hubert PaulmerDonna Podems, Jim Rugh, Mary Sue Smiaroski, Michele Tarsilla, Catherine Harbour, Donna Mertens,  Tom Schwandt, Svetlana Negroustoueva, Cheryl Oros, Bianca Montrosse-Moorhead 

Local Arrangement Working Group (Conference)

Charge: To assist management with the coordination of conference outreach and logistics in the conference host city.

Members: Lana Rucks

Membership Working Group- Not Yet Active

Charge: To assist management in the development of the Membership Development Plan.

Membership Survey Working Group

Charge: To create a membership feedback survey instrument, collect and analyze the data, and create a final report for management.

Minority Serving Institution Planning Group

Charge: To develop the MSI Fellowship Program.

Nominations Working Group

Charge: To recruit member applicants for submission to the Elections Working Group to support them in creating an annual election slate.

Members: Jennifer Greene, Jim Rugh, Anne Vo, Maurice Samuels, Nicole Vicinanz

Professional Development Working Group

Charge: To provide suggestions and input to management on the professional development offerings through AEA including eStudies, Coffee Breaks, and PD Workshops at the annual conference.

Members: Sheila Robinson (Chair), Ann Emery, Norma Fleischman, Srik Gopalakrishnan, Leslie Goodyear, Pat Jessup, Laura Lawson, Lisa Richardson, Patrina Twiley.

P2i Advisory Group 

Charge: To develop presentation training tools to enhance presentation skills of AEA presenters/members.

Research Mailing List Request Working Group

Charge: To assist management in considering the requests for AEA member lists for research purposes.

Members: Anne Vo, Tarek Azzam, Leslie Fierro

Social Media Working Group

Charge: To provide input on management’s social media plan.

Members: Sheila Robinson, Alana H. Chambers, Adrienne Dellinger, Ryan Langrill, Amanda Bartlett, Chithra Adams, David Arthur Larwin, 

Summer Institute Working Group

Charge: To assist management with the creation of the content/speakers for the annual Summer Institute program.

Members: Veronica Olazabal, Susan Wolfe, Kristianna Pettibone,Thomas Chapel

Thought Leaders Working Group

Charge: To design and lead topic discussions on the AEA website for the Thought Leader Series.